top of page
Banner for Website.png


In 1922, six phenomenal women became the charter members of Eta Omega.  The charter members were: Maude E. Brown (Porter), Marinda Buckner Robinson, Hazel Crice, M. Ethel Jackson (Coffman), Marguerite Parks (Norell), and Bessie Baker Willis.


Eta Omega is home to the 7th International President Maude E. Brown (Porter) of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® and five former international officers of our sorority: Maude Brown Porter, Carolyn S. Blanton, C. Elizabeth Johnson, Hazel Ross Bolan, and Lee Anna Shelburne.


In 2019, a vision fair was captured when the Hortense B. Perry Foundation purchased a 5-acre, 17,000 square foot campus and named it the Maude Brown Porter Center of Excellence. The campus will house the operations and programs of the Foundation in partnership with the Eta Omega Chapter.


Since Eta Omega's inception in 1922, four major service projects have impacted the local community.  The projects are The Plymouth Raffle, Little Miss AKA Cotillion, Minority Educators Symposium, and K.E.R.A. (Kentucky Education Reform Act) Parent Forum. 


The legacy of service continued as Eta Omega Chapter entered the new century with the same Spirit of service that the charter members established, included AKA Day at the Capitol, Health Awareness, Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Celebration, AKA Coat Day, African American Read-In Program, and A Remembrance of Marian Anderson. 


These are just a few service projects and a summary of the service rendered by the members of the Eta Omega Chapter for over 100 years. To keep our rich history of service in the forefront, we will continue to strengthen the Black family and uplift our community while impacting our youth and rendering service to all mankind.

Bottom Banner.png
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
bottom of page