The Eta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®., established in 1922, is the first chapter of our international organization to be chartered in the metropolitan Louisville area. The chapter's commitment to education and the advancement of individuals is pivotal to the foundational belief of service to all mankind.


We maintain the values of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, by promoting high scholastic academic advancement, demonstration of professionalism, and representation of service in the community. The membership, comprised of distinguished women who boast excellent academic achievements and proven leadership skills, is involved in the global community through advocacy and service. Eta Omega is dedicated to improving the quality of life for citizens worldwide and promoting peace. Collectively, we utilize our resources to provide service to the community locally, regionally, and internationally. The chapter regularly partners with other organizations to achieve its goals of service to the community and all mankind.


Eta Omega impacts the lives of individuals worldwide through its implementation of our international programs. The current international program theme for 2018-2022 is Exemplifying Excellence Through Sustainable Service and includes five program targets designed to advance the mission of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., with excellence and underscore our commitment to sustainable service.  They are: 


  1. HBCU for Life: A Call to Action

  2. Women's Healthcare & Wellness

  3. Building Your Economic Legacy

  4. The Arts!

  5. Global Impact


Both the Hortense B. Perry Foundation and Eta Omega have worked untiringly to be of service to all mankind.  The Hortense B. Perry Foundation, the charitable entity of our Chapter, is an educational foundation that provides scholarships and grants to college bound high school seniors who live in the Louisville Metro area. This is the primary purpose of the HBP Foundation, promotion of “high scholastic” achievement for high school girls and college women.  It also promotes and provides financial support for our international and local programs such as the Read-in, Little Miss AKA, Salute to Women Entrepreneurs, and LEAF, a program of encouragement and self-improvement for middle school girls.  To learn more about HBPF, please see the section titled “HBP Foundation”.

Finally, Eta Omega boasts proudly of being a local and world servant, and we are continually seeking women of high scholastic, ethical, and moral standards who also want to strive to do things that are worthwhile.  Our efforts are united, and because of that, the Eta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, is a strong, close-knit group of women who strive to make a difference in the lives of all people.  We are committed to serving ALL mankind.  

Chapter Officers

Christie McCravy


Latisha Cahoon


Jennifer Adams Tucker

Assistant Secretary

Lorrie Cahoon


LaVonya Jones


Marilyn Marshall


Lynetta Crawford

1st Vice President

Nikki Farris

Assistant Treasurer

Carolyn Collins

Financial Secretary

Adrienne Henderson


Vickie Montgomery

Graduate Advisor

Donna Pearson


Sherrie Lyons

2nd Vice President

Stephanie Lackey


Tiffany Baxter

Assistant Financial Secretary

Dr. Mary Stoddard

Assistant Parliamentarian

Taysha Farley

Corresponding Secretary

Dr. Tish Brookins

Ivy Leaf Reporter

Past Chapter Presidents

1922 - 1984

Maude E. Brown (Porter) (1922), Bessie Willis (1924), Carolyn Blanton (1926), Estella M. Kennedy (1928), Maude E. Brown (Porter) (1930), Willie Carrington (1932), Gladys J. Spain (1933), Helen Y. Kuykendall (1935), Rose Ellen Goodloe (1937), Gertrude S. Wilson (1939), Yolanda Barnett (1940), Virginia Winlock Harris (1942), Hazel R. Bolan (1944), Alyne Martin (1946), Lee Anna Shelburne (1947), Evelyn R. Jackson (1949), Elizabeth W. Collins (1955), Eleanor Y. Guillard (1957), Lucy P. Larke (1959), Ima Farthing (1961), Rosamary Bell (1963), Margaret Woodson (1965), Barbara W. Stringer (1967), Gertrude Lively (1969), Anna Chandler (1971), Mary Gant (1973), Sara McPherson (1975), Cleopatra Gregory (1977), Mattie Clay (1979), Barbara W. Stringer (1981), Irene E. Smith (1982), and Janis N. Brown (1984)


1986 - Present

Ruby Fitzgerald (1996)

Gloria Teague


Rose Marie Stanley


Denise Pass


Stephanie Slates


Dr. Mary Stoddard


Anita Donaldson


Francis Sandifer-Cotton


Shirley Fuqua Jackson


Chantelle Atkins Barbour


Dr. Erika Collins


Janice Williams


Naomi Christian


Verna Cahoon


Sherri Bethea


Virenda Cunningham-Lester


© 2021 by Eta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.®

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube